Gareth Phillips brings us today’s bet of the day.

1:50pm AEDT
Scone Race 2

#2 Big Happiness $2.60 with TopSport

I keep coming back to him by default. The way he has quickly capitulated at both race starts over a longer trip has me thinking 900m is his go, and I’m not fussed with unfashionable Serg to steer over this short trip (jump and run!). Buchanan stable has had a terrific start to 2021 with four winners on the board. The impressive recent trial is what has roped me in, winning well, ahead of Group horse EMERALDS (FRENCH BONNET fifth). Early support for first-up runner MY SISTER CAROLE has me a tad nervous, but I didn’t like what I saw of her when Gai had her, I am “neutral” with her and MORE JOIE.

New podcast: how betting taxes are affecting you

On the latest episode of The Other Side with TopSport, Tristan explains to us how betting taxes work… and how last week’s increase in Victoria could spell trouble for punters if there aren’t further changes.

Think it doesn’t affect you? Think again. Click here to listen.

Free Tips: recent winners

Sat 23 Jan: Milton Park $4.40
Wed 20 Jan: Prism $4.20
Wed 13 Jan: Diamonds inthe Sky $7.50
Fri 1 Jan: Riding The Wave $3.20
Wed 30 Dec: Degas $4
Sat 19 Dec: Written Miss $2.90
Sat 5 Dec: Written Miss $2.80
Sat 28 Nov: Ocean’s Thirteen $3.40
Wed 25 Nov: Tralee Rose $2.90
Sat 14 Nov: Through The Cracks $3.60
Sat 7 Nov: Arcadia Queen $2.90

The 7 Deadly Sins Of Punting


Stuck in a betting rut? As you probably know, there’s far more to successful punting than just picking winners. So…Read More

Sports betting: the huge value of a few cents


Our most popular footy codes are returning soon from their COVID-enforced breaks, so it’s a good time to dust off…Read More

10 tips on how to avoid bookmaker bans


The scourge of the punter… bookmaker bans. Minimum Bet Limits are a step in the right direction. But it’s still…Read More