us masters

The first of the four golf Majors held each year, the Masters is the only one of the quartet to be held at the same venue each year – Augusta National. The tournament was first held in 1934 and has become famous for its various unique traditions like the Green Jacket given to each winner (which started in 1948)..

Unlike the other Majors, the field here is classed as an entirely invitational line-up, with no pre-qualification, and the numbers are limited to less than 100 players – the exact number varies slightly depending on how many former champions and exempt players attend. There have been 85 winners to date… 62 from the USA, five from Spain and South Africa, four from England, two from Germany and one from each of Scotland, Wales, Fiji, Canada, Argentina, Australia & Japan. Jack Nicklaus leads the way with six career wins, Tiger Woods has five wins, and Arnold Palmer has four.

Prize money $10m ($2.07 to the winner)

Field 90

72-Hole Record 268: Dustin Johnson (2020).

18-Hole Record 63: Nick Price (1986), Greg Norman (1996).

Highest-ranked OWGR players in field: Scheffler (1), Rahm (2), Morikawa (3), Hovland (4), Cantlay (5), Smith (6), Thomas (7), Johnson (8), McIlroy (9), Schauffele (10).

2021 result
-10 Hideki Matsuyama ($36)
-9 Will Zalatoris ($101)
-7 Jordan Spieth ($11)
-7 Xander Schauffele ($23)
-6 Jon Rahm ($13)
-6 Marc Leishman ($101)

Recent winners (and top five)
2020: Dustin Johnson – Im, Smith – Thomas – Fritelli, McIlroy
2019: Tiger Woods
 – Johnson, Koepka, Schauffele – Day, Finau, Molinari, Simpson
2018: Patrick Reed – Fowler – Spieth – Rahm – McIlroy, Stenson, Smith, Watson
2017: Sergio Garcia – Rose – Schwartzel – Kuchar, Pieters
2016: Danny Willett – Spieth, Westwood – Casey, Holmes, Johnson
2015: Jordan Spieth – Mickelson, Rose – McIlroy – Matsuyama
2014: Bubba Watson – Blixt, Spieth – Jiminez – Fowler, Kuchar
2013: Adam Scott – Cabrera – Day – Leishman, Woods
2012: Bubba Watson – Oosthuizen – Hanson, Kuchar, Mickelson, Westwood
2011: Charl Schwartzel – Day, Scott – Donald, Ogilvy, Woods

US Masters: The Course

The permanent base for the US Masters is Augusta National GC in Georgia. Founded back in the 1930s, the course was built on the site of a nursery (hence all the holes are named after a flower, tree or shrub). The original design was by Rees Jones but the layout has been tinkered with over the years – mainly in terms of length – the latest by Tom Fazio in 2002. The 18 holes now stretch out to 7,510 yards with a host of signature holes and areas (such as Amen Corner), water hazards (Rae’s Creek) and strategically placed bunkers.

The set-up of the course year-on-year tends to put more emphasis on driving distance than accuracy off the tee, but what is tested on every hole is the ability of the players on their approach to, and their play around, the lightning fast greens – good putting and scrambling are key ingredients to success at Augusta.

US Masters: The Weather

A potentially showery week is forecast with a daily precipitation forecast of 30%-30%-30%-30% over the course of the tournament. Temperatures will be in the low 70s, with plenty of cloud cover during the week. Winds will be moderate, with maximum wind speeds reaching just 16-18mph.

US Masters: The Bets

To celebrate golf’s biggest week, you can get the Golf Insider’s full coverage pf the Masters for just $1… that includes tournament preview, win and each-way bets, Top 10 and Top 20 bets,  Round 1 Leader and 3-Ball bets. Click here to join.

*Membership recurs weekly at regular cost of $37. Simply contact us anytime to cancel.

The Longest Game: How an expert wins at golf betting

The Golf Insider has compiled (and continues to grow!) an impressive list of big-dollar winners – check out the list…Read More

Betting on golf: stay the course, enjoy the profits

We wanted to have a chat today about betting on golf. And more importantly, what’s required to make money –…Read More

Michael Jordan: The GOAT’s Great Gambling Tales

Sports fans across the world have hailed The Last Dance, the documentary series about Chicago Bulls’ dominance of the 1990s,…Read More