George Main Stakes

The George Main Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race over 1600 metres, run at Randwick Racecourse during the Spring Carnival. The race is named after George Main, who was a former chairman of the Australian Jockey Club, one of the forerunners to the Australian Turf Club.

The race has been around since 1945 and has some superstars of the turf on its honour roll – big winners include horses such as Kingston Town, Vo Rogue, Shaftsbury Avenue, Lohnro and More Joyous. More recently, the race has been dominated by champion mare Winx. The George Main was a regular step in Winx’s spring campaigns, and she won the race three years in a row between 2016 and 2018.

The race had held Principal Race or Group 1 status since its 1945 inception, and has always been run over 1,600 or a mile. Its place on the calendar means it often attracts horses aimed at major races later in the Spring Carnival, as thus often boasts a high-quality field. The winner of the race gains a guaranteed start in the Group 1 Epsom Handicap.

George Main Stakes

Randwick Racecourse, 1600m

Group 1 weight-for-age, three-year-olds and up


George Main Stakes Stakes 2020

The 2020 George Main Stakes was won by the Chris Waller-trained Kolding, which was ridden by Tommy Berry. The Randwick track was rated a Good 4. It was a trifecta for the Waller stable, with Star Of The Seas (ridden by Sam Clipperton) running second, and Imaging (Kerrin McEvoy) finishing third.

Finish Horse Jockey Trainer Margin Barrier Weight SP
1 3. Kolding Tommy Berry Chris Waller 1:33.30 7 59 $9.50
2 5. Star Of The Seas Sam Clipperton Chris Waller 0.4 3 59 $12
3 4. Imaging Kerrin McEvoy Chris Waller 0.6 5 59 $9.50

George Main Stakes: past winners

2020 Kolding
2019 Avilius
2018 Winx
2017 Winx
2016 Winx
2015 Kermadec
2014 Sacred Falls
2013 Streama
2012 Shoot Out
2011 Sincero
2010 More Joyous

Saturday Horse Racing Tips September 19

Saturday horse racing tips September 19: Trevor Lawson (Melbourne Ratings) and Mark Rhoden (NSW Winners). Brought to you by TopSport…Read More

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is Group 1 handicap over 1400 metres, run at Caulfield Racecourse during the Spring Carnival.…Read More

Saturday Horse Racing Tips September 12

Saturday horse racing tips September 12: Trevor Lawson (Melbourne Ratings) and Mark Rhoden (NSW Winners). Brought to you by TopSport…Read More